Your email marketing cost can be difficult to measure unless you manage the email marketing budget. This cost takes into account both your tools and your team (including agencies, contractors, and freelancers). ROI, and in particular potential ROI , is the perfect way to get a budget for more resources or to buy into a new project. Image of person looking at report on laptop What leads to better ROI? The average email marketing ROI is 36:1, but some brands get way more than that. Find out which factors correlate with higher returns in our CMO's Guide to Email Marketing ROI (Not Just for CMOs!). Download the free report → Before emails forwarded from Litmus Email Analytics Email forwards are the number of times users click the forward function in their email client after opening your email. Simple enough, right?
This is something you want to keep track of if your goal is to create share-worthy content. To get this: Forwarding rate = (number of emails forwarded / number of emails opened) x 100 prints printed emails from Litmus Email Analytics Impressions measures the number of people who click on the impression function in the email client after opening your email. Consider this metric for coupons that need to be printed and brought to the store, as well Image Masking Service as items such as directions, directions, tickets, or confirmations. Here's how to get that number: Impression rate = (number of emails printed / number of emails opened) x 100 Mailing list size or growth rate Without a mailing list, you have no one to send your emails to. What if your list doesn't grow? Then your email program can't grow either. Mailing list growth is how much your list is growing instead of churning. So you always want it to be positive. To calculate this: List Growth Rate
((New Monthly Subscribers - Monthly Subscribers) / List Size) x 100 Feel free to swap the monthly period with one that makes sense for your brand. Alternatively, you can look at the unsubscribe rate which measures the number of people removed or removed from your mailing list. This would include unsubscribes, bounces, manual deletions, or even unengaged subscribers. It's good to have this number so you know how much you need to grow your list to have a positive growth rate. Here's how to get it: Churn rate = (monthly unsubscribed subscribers / list size at start of month) x 100 Litmus Marketing Guide to Revenue: Mailing Lists Healthy mailing list. Healthy ROI. Subscribers fuel the overall success of your email program. Learn how to get more good subscribers. And more income. Get the guide →